About Capilano University's Board of Governors

The Capilano University Board of Governors directs the affairs of the university and sets policies in accordance with the University Act of British Columbia. The Board is responsible for the management, administration and control of property revenue, business and affairs of the University.

The Board of Governors is composed of 15 members: the Chancellor; the President; two faculty members elected by the faculty; eight persons appointed by the Lieutenant Governor in Council; two of whom are to be appointed from among persons nominated by the alumni association; two students elected from students who are members of an undergraduate student society or a graduate student society; and one person elected by and from the employees of the university who are not faculty members.

No remuneration is paid to any member of the Board of Governors in respect of their service as a governor.

For more information, download the Board Governance Manual 2023 (pdf).

Terms of Reference