The Senate Budget Advisory Committee (SBAC) is a standing committee of Senate that advises the president on the preparation of the annual budget. SBAC's mandate arises from s.62(2) of the University Act: "the president must prepare and submit to the board an annual budget in consultation with the appropriate standing committee of the senate."


  • To review the University's annual budget with respect to its impact upon the University's programs and educational services.
  • To make recommendations to the president sufficiently in advance of the adoption of each University budget as to allow SBAC's recommendations to be considered by the president in making budget decisions.
  • To request, receive and review data and make recommendations in a timely manner to the president as deemed appropriate in relation to the University budget.
  • To recommend to Senate a draft Senate operations budget, in accordance with Ministry of Advanced Education, Skills & Training guidelines and University policies.
  • To report to Senate on its activities.

2023 - 2024 membership

Vice-Chair of Senate Sue Dritmanis
Administrator Laura Kinderman
Administrator  Tracy Penny Light
Faculty Deb Jamison
Faculty Michael Thoma (Chair)
Faculty Denise Gingrich
Staff Lesley Nelson
Student Manpreet
(Nov-Voting) Ex-Officio Member  
President Paul Dangerfield 
VP Finance and Administration  Tally Bains

VP, Strategic Planning, Assessment and Institutional Effectiveness

Toran Savjord
Director, Financial Operations Holly Hunter
Director, Financial Planning & Analysis Narisha Jessani
*One additional faculty member will be added if the Vice-Chair of Senate is not a faculty member.

General information: