Capilano Blues varsity athletes earn record setting number students named National Scholars by CCAA

37 students recognized for academic achievement

Release date:

Tag(s): Athletics & Recreation, News & Announcements

Photo shows student athletes Alyssa Cox (Soccer), Jaylene Lucas (Volleyball), Leonard Tesarik (Volleyball), Michael Kelly (Basketball), Kirsten Abo (Basketball), Alanah Dulong (Soccer)

The Canadian Collegiate Athletic Association (CCAA) National Scholars for 2020-2021 have been announced and a record 37 Capilano Blues student-athletes earned a spot on the list.

The National Scholars list recognizes students who achieve a GPA of 3.50 or better for the Fall and Spring terms while completing a minimum of 18 credits.

The 37 Blues listed ties Capilano University with Vancouver Island University for the most in the PACWEST conference and is an increase over the 26 Blues listed for the 2019–2020 year.

CapU players earning recognition:

Women's Basketball

Kirsten Abo, Communications
Meagan Briggs, Communications
Madeleine Counsell, Music
Alanya Davignon, Applied Behavioural Analysis-Autism
Jenna Griffin, Kinesiology
Emma Jones, Early Childhood Education
Jenelle McComb, Communications
Camie Ward, Communications

Men's Basketball

Martin Bogajev, Arts & Sciences
Grady Huskisson, Business Administration
Michael Kelly, Business Administration

Women's Soccer

Alyssa Cox, Kinesiology
Alanah Dulong, Business Administration
Aynsley Hurtado, Communications
Sabrina Lam, Theatre
Keira Martin, Acting for Stage and Screen
Catrina Olstrom, Business Administration
Jessica Price, Arts & Sciences
Holly Ruffalls, Kinesiology
Maya Smith, Kinesiology
Mehar Waraich, Business Administration
Claire Ye, Communications

Men's Soccer

Nathan Graziano, Business Administration
Mo Karimipour, Business Administration
Colby Moore, Business Administration
Jake Waymire, Kinesiology

Women's Volleyball

Vanesa Gatto, Kinesiology
Brooke Lightburn, Business Administration
Jaylene Lucas, Early Childhood Education
Stephanie Sung, Business Administration
Cate Sykes, Arts & Sciences

Men's Volleyball

Ethan Apostoliuk, Business Administration
Enis Besirevic, Business Administration
Rafael Hilario, Business Administration
Graeme Hughes, Arts & Sciences (Psychology)
Leonard Tesarik, Business Administration
Jenson Yuen, Business Administration

Submitted by: Communications