CapU student-athletes named National Scholars

The Canadian Collegiate Athletic Association (CCAA) has announced the 2017-18 list of CCAA National Scholars, and 16 Capilano University Blues student-athletes have won the prestigious award.

Release date:

Tag(s): Athletics & Recreation

The National Scholar Award is “designed to recognize the outstanding accomplishments of CCAA student-athletes.” To receive the award, a student-athlete must achieve honours-standing at their institution in the current academic year. At Capilano University, honours standing is given to students who achieve a GPA of 3.67 or higher.

“Excelling in both academics and athletics is an incredible achievement,” said Milt Williams, CapU Manager of Athletics & Recreation. “To be able combine those two is one effort, but at the same time to be involved in the community and represent the University is amazing. The CapU Blues are very proud of all of our National Scholars. I think it is a credit to them as individuals and to CapU’s administration who supports them so well.”


Ashley dela Cruz Yip, basketball

Simrat Dosanjh, basketball

Brooklynn Doucette, soccer

Keith Jackson, soccer

Natalie Leclerc, soccer

Jaimi MacCara, soccer

Brittney Roussy, soccer

Claire Ye, soccer

Trina Ewashkiw, volleyball

Tracy Ewashkiw, volleyball

Isabela Lima, volleyball

Tyneille Neufeld, volleyball

Cameron Fay, volleyball

TheAnh Pham, volleyball

Mattias Wels-Lopez, volleyball

Justin Yee, volleyball


The 16 National Scholar Award recipients are the second-most of any school in the PACWEST, and brings Capilano’s total number to 208.

Submitted by: CJ Pentland, Athletics & Recreation Officer