20 CapU student-athletes named National Scholars

The Canadian Collegiate Athletic Association (CCAA) has announced the 2016-17 list of CCAA National Scholars, and 20 Capilano University Blues student-athlete have won the prestigious award.

Release date:

Tag(s): Awards & Accolades, Athletics & Recreation

The National Scholar Award is designed to recognize the outstanding accomplishments of CCAA student-athletes. To receive the award, a student-athlete must achieve honours standing at their institution in the current academic year. At Capilano University, honours standing is given to students who achieve a GPA of 3.67 or higher.

We are very proud of our student-athletes who make an enormous commitment to our university and our community by dedicating countless hours of study, practice time and competition throughout the year, said Milt Williams, CapU Manager of Athletics & Recreation. The 20 recipients of the prestigious award exemplifies the values and work ethic of the Blues Athletics and the emphasis the program places on student success.

Ashley dela Cruz Yip, Basketball

Sherrie Errico, Basketball

AmberLee Kavanagh, Basketball

Natasha Reimer, Basketball

Susan Zdziechowski, Basketball

Cameron Fay, Volleyball

Mattias Wels Lopez, Volleyball

Keeley Bell, Volleyball

Kelsi Boroevich, Volleyball

Tracy Ewashkiw, Volleyball

Trina Ewashkiw, Volleyball

Sarah Hughes, Volleyball

Tyneille Neufeld, Volleyball

Keith Jackson, Soccer

Kaylin Kaila, Soccer

Devan Woolley, Soccer

Brooklynn Doucette, Soccer

Natalie LeClerc, Soccer

Julianna Mannella, Soccer

Dominika Paige, Soccer

The 20 National Scholar recipients are the second-most of any school in the PACWEST, and the most in a year at Capilano since 2007-08.

For more information, please contact CJ Pentland, CapU Sports Information Director at cjpentland@capilanou.ca or 604 986 1911 X 3404.

Submitted by: Blues Athletics