Events

    • Peter and the Starcatcher

      Thu Nov 16 to Sat Nov 25

      A swashbuckling prequel to Peter Pan and a rollicking tale of friendship, daring and the search for the leader in all of us.

      Don McGlashan

      Fri Nov 24 (8:00 PM to 10:30 PM)

      The New Zealand singer-songwriter Don McGlashan (Blam Blam Blam, The Front Lawn, Muttonbirds) takes the stage in Kitsilano in a special co-production between Cap Global Roots and the Rogue Folk Club.

      Bach’s Christmas Oratorio

      Sat Dec 2 to Sun Dec 3

      The Capilano University Festival Chorus and Capilano University Singers, performing a Christmas season classic

      Charlie Hunter Trio

      Tue Dec 12 (8:00 PM to 10:30 PM)

      Charlie Hunter has been called a "pop guitarist of a new order" (Pop Matters) for his deep, inventive grooves, and versatile, vivid showcase of the seven- and eight-string guitar.

      Winter Harp

      Wed Dec 13 to Thu Dec 14

      A stunningly beautiful show in celebration of winter and Christmas.

      Misery

      Tue Jan 9 (8:00 PM to 10:30 PM)

      Stephen King’s chilling thriller, come to the stage in a special Arts Club at Cap presentation.

      A Tribute to Django Reinhardt

      Fri Jan 26 (8:00 PM to 10:30 PM)

      The legendary father of “hot jazz,” Django Reinhardt’s iconic sound has influenced legions of musicians. Don’t miss this one-night fete to the Gypsy jazz king.

      BiRDMAN LiVE

      Thu Feb 1 (8:00 PM to 10:30 PM)

      Cap Jazz presents multiple Grammy®-winning jazz drummer Antonio Sánchez performing the all-percussion soundtrack to the backdrop of Alejandro Iñárritu's Oscar-winning Birdman in a special Vogue Theatre show. In partnership with VIFF and PuSh Festival.

      The Harpoonist & The Axe Murderer (with Terminal Station)

      Fri Feb 2 (8:00 PM to 10:30 PM)

      Raucous folk, blues and rock. The headlining dynamic duo's new album, Apocalypstick, is full of self-described "psychedelic landscapes and world-ending jam outs" that fit the times we're in. With opener Terminal Station.

      A Midsummer Night's Dream

      Tue Feb 6 to Sat Feb 10

      Star-crossed lovers, graceful fairies, courtly royals and country bumpkins come together for a night of fantasy and romantic comedy in one of the Bard's most beloved works.

      Troker

      Sat Feb 17 (8:00 PM to 10:30 PM)

      "Muscular and brainy, this tight little band shows how to mine the culturally rich tradition of Mexican music and work it ingeniously into fusion jazz," says Something Else! Co-presented by Cap Jazz and the 2018 Chutzpah Festival.

      Onegin

      Tue Feb 20 (8:00 PM to 10:30 PM)

      A passionate new musical and winner of 10 JESSIE awards.

      Dee Daniels with NiteCap

      Fri Feb 23 (7:30 PM to 10:00 PM)

      A returning favourite jazz vocalist – with a four octave-range, steeped in gospel and blues – performs with CapilanoU’s NiteCap.

      Lennie Gallant

      Fri Feb 23 (8:00 PM to 10:30 PM)

      The Maritimes come to life in PEI-based Lennie Gallant's harmonious yarns – blending rock, Celtic, rock and country, along with an exhilarating dash of Cajun spiciness.

      The Donny McCaslin Quartet

      Wed Mar 7 (8:00 PM to 10:30 PM)

      On the heels of his sold-out performance at this year's TD Vancouver International Jazz Festival, Donny McCaslin returns for a one-night show at The York in a special Cap Jazz and Cultch collaboration.

      Chris Smither

      Sat Mar 10 (8:00 PM to 10:30 PM)

      Folk-blues icon Chris Smither has been called an "American original – a product of the musical melting pot and one of the absolute best singer-songwriters in the world" (Associated Press).

      Anne of Green Gables

      Thu Mar 15 to Sat Mar 24

      The iconic Canadian story, adapted to a musical that stays true to the beloved book.

      António Zambujo

      Sun Mar 25 (7:30 PM to 10:00 PM)

      The New York Times raves, "His innovative fusion of the traditional genre with cante alentejano, a type of regional male chant, imbues the teary genre with new light." Zambujo returns to Vancouver, performing at Kay Meek Centre as part of our Cap Global Roots Series.

      Ineke Vandoorn & Marc van Vugt with "A" Band & NiteCap

      Thu Mar 29 (8:00 PM to 10:30 PM)

      A Dutch duo known for their dazzling original compositions – with Vandoorn’s vivid vocals at centre stage – in a special “A” Band and NiteCap collaboration.

      Viennese Masters: Haydn, Schubert, Mozart

      Sat Apr 7 to Sun Apr 8

      Three classical masterpieces from Schubert, Haydn and Mozart, performed by the Capilano University Festival Chorus and Capilano University Singers

      Black Hen Roadshow

      Wed Apr 25 (8:00 PM to 10:30 PM)

      The Black Hen Roadshow is back—and better than ever—in its third, powerhouse incarnation.

      Las Cafeteras with special guests Locarno

      Sat Apr 28 (8:00 PM to 10:30 PM)

      The "defiantly political but cheerful party folk" (The Guardian) with a sound that's "fresh and smart" (NPR) stage a one-night show at the Imperial in a special Cap Global Roots and Vancouver World Music Festival collaboration.

      Martin Harley

      Sun May 20 (8:00 PM to 10:30 PM)

      Our 2017-2018 season wraps up with the blues delivered by stellar songwriter and slide guitar player Martin Harley, of whom Roots magazine says, “Slide guitar master. Martin Harley is the business.”