September 1, 2010: Capilano University announces its 2010/2011 board

      Wednesday, September 1, 2010
      Contact: Shelley Kean at 604.983.7596

      (NORTH VANCOUVER, B.C.) – Dr. Robin Brayne, former North Vancouver School District superintendent and associate director of the Centre for the Study of Educational Leadership and Policy, has been elected chair of the 2010/11 Capilano University board of governors. Jane Shackell, a lawyer with Miller Thomson LLP, has been elected vice chair.

      Continuing board members include Capilano’s chancellor, Peter Ufford; HSBC Canada vice-president Andrew Basford; former Rainmaker CEO Barry Chambers; former District of Squamish councillor Sonja Lebans; faculty representatives Dr. Frank Harris and Stephen Williams; and non-faculty representative Shoshana Somerville. New board members include Capilano’s new president Dr. Kris Bulcroft, Four Host First Nations Society CEO Tewanee Joseph, ICBC chief financial officer Geri Prior; and ACL Services Ltd vice-president Blair Simonite. David Clarkson and Bahiyyih Galloway are newly-elected student reps.