November 17, 2008: Capilano University announces its 2008/2009 board

      Monday, November 17, 2008
      Contact:  Shelley Kean at 604.983.7596

      (NORTH VANCOUVER, B.C.) – Pat Dejong, division manager for BMO Bank of Montreal, has been elected chair of the 2008/09 Capilano University board of governors. Dr. Robin Brayne, former North Vancouver School District superintendent, has been elected vice chair.

      New Board members include lawyer Jane Shackell, CA Mervin MIchaels, and elected student representatives Richard Honkanen and Trevor Page. Continuing their appointments are: HSBC Canada vice-president Andrew Basford; former Rainmaker CEO Barry Chambers; former District of Squamish councillor Sonja Lebans; Karen Hodson; faculty representatives Dr. Frank Harris and Stephen Williams; and non-faculty representative Shoshana Somerville.

      Voting board members now include Capilano’s president, Dr. Greg Lee, and Peter Ufford, chancellor.