September 25, 2000: Capilano College announces its 2000/2001 board of governors

      September 25, 2000
      Contact:  Shelley Kean at 983-7596

      (NORTH VANCOUVER)--Three new members have been appointed and two new members have been elected to the 2000/2001 Capilano College board of governors.

      Newly-appointed are Jean Karlinski, who works as an administrative assistant for the B.C. Council on Admissions and Transfer; Jody Wilson, a lawyer with Connell Lightbody, Barristers & Solicitors; and Craig Keating, a councillor with the City of North Vancouver.

      Naomi Yamamoto, owner of Lasercolor Design and Printing in North Vancouver, remains chair for her third and final term, and Squamish resident and post-secondary instructor, Donnaleen Miller, remains vice chair.

      Returning voting board members include: Dal Hothi, Barbara Howard, Frances Moorcroft, Alexandra Niblock, Sam Weller, Diane Blaney (representing faculty), and Jennifer Nordstrom (representing staff).

      Returning nonvoting board members include College president, Greg Lee, Education Council chair, Paul Mier, and ex-officio representative, James Cooke.

      Capilano College serves the communities of the Lower Mainland, Howe Sound, and the Sunshine Coast through campuses in North Vancouver, Squamish and Sechelt. Enrolment totals 7,000 students in credit programs each term with and additional 7,000 people taking non-credit courses annually.