September 19, 2002: Capilano College announces its 2002/2003 board of governors

      September 19, 2002
      Contact: Shelley Kean at 604.983.7596

      (NORTH VANCOUVER, B.C.)--Two new members have been appointed and one new member elected to the Capilano College 2002/2003 board of governors.

      Newly-appointed are Linda Robertson, former corporate secretary as well as the senior vice president, human resources and law, at the Insurance Corporation of B.C., and Brian Smith, president of Brier Enterprises Inc. in Sechelt. Newly elected is student representative, Ben West. Capilano College Mathematics instructor, Dr. Frank Harris, also joins the board as a non-voting member in his capacity as chair of Education Council.

      Continuing their appointments are board chair and Squamish resident, Donnaleen Miller, Richard Davies, Tom Adair, Shannon Byrne, Daryl Collier and John Webster. Continuing as an elected member is Diane Blaney (representing faculty).

      Returning nonvoting board members include College president, Dr. Greg Lee, and ex-officio administration representative, James Cooke, dean of Student Services and Foundation programs. Elections for one staff position and additional student representative will be held in October.

      - 30 -